Rev. Dana Workman

Associate Pastor (Worship and Education)

 

What does your job involve?

I am responsible for coordinating the music for all worship services as well as all music organizations.   I also oversee the education ministry of the church.
 

Where were you raised?

Mobile, Alabama.
 

How large is the family you grew up in?

I am an only child.
 

When and how did you come to know Christ?

I was 12 years old when I accepted Jesus Christ.  I attended church all the time with my parents.   Both of my parents had an influence on me spiritually, as well as the Minister of Music in my home church in Mobile, Alabama.
 

What was your first job?

I worked as a custodial assistant in my home church.  I really enjoyed being in church every day.
 

Where did you go to college?

University of Mobile and New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary.
 

When and whom did you marry?

Becky Poates in 1974.
 

How many children do you have?

Two sons and one daughter.   We also have two daughter-in-laws and one son-in-law, and of course we have three grandchildren.
 

How did you get into the ministry?

I was involved in church from childhood through my teenage years.  A very good friend, my music minister, helped guide me to see my God given talents and gifts toward ministry in the church.   While on youth recreation week at Ridgecrest, the Lord called me to be in ministry for Him in 1969.
 

Where else have you served before coming to hillwood?

I have served the following churches during my years of ministry:  Axis Baptist Church, 1970-1972; Navco Baptist Church, 1972-1974; Lakeview Baptist Church, 1980-1982; Navco Baptist Church, 1982; Old Spanish Fort Baptist Church, 1982-2000; and Hillwood Baptist Church, 2000-Present.
 

What do you like most about your job?

To sense the power of God in worship and praise and to see lives altered and changed by the Lord.  I really enjoy being around people!
 

What do you like to do with your free time?

I enjoy being outdoors.   Playing golf, softball, walking, working on my cars, etc.   I also enjoy my date night each week with my wife.   Being with and around family is such a blessing.